Haig journals transcription project
An extraordinary collection of journals and memorandum books by Narryna’s builder, Captain Andrew Haig (1793-1871) survives in the Crowther collection of the Tasmanian Archives and Heritage Office. They span the period 1817-1855 and are a trove of information about Haig’s business enterprises which included imports, shipbuilding, whaling, passenger services and property investment (including Narryna).
These fascinating journals shed light on the material culture of early 19th century Hobart including how houses such as Narryna were built furnished and provisioned.
To join the group of volunteers who are transcribing and cross-referencing the journals with other historical sources, please go to the volunteers’ page and complete the application form.